Board and Governance

Board of Directors


Ann Curl Photo of Ann Curl

Ann is a member of Vanderbilt Kennedy Centerís Community Advisory Council and is a member of the Autism Society of Middle Tennessee. She has completed Vanderbilt's Advocacy Project and Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND) Program; and she is a graduate of Partners in Policymaking.

Vice President, Planning/Rules Committee Chair

Linda Brown Photo of Linda Brown

Linda Brown, from La Vergne is mother of Terrell, who has autism. She is President of The Arc Rutherford County and works at Vanderbilt University.


Treasurer, Budget and Finance Committee Chair

Mary La Haie Photo of Mary La Haie

Mary is a CPA and vice president of finance, Goodwill Industries of Middle Tennessee. She has 25 years experience in accounting, payroll and loss management.


Joe PittsPhoto of Joe Pitts

Joe is a former representative in the Tennessee General Assembly. He has served on The Arc TN board since 2017. He is a member of the TN Bankers and Independent Community Bankers Associations and Clarksville-Montgomery County Retired Teachers Association. He has a willingness to be "another shovel in the ditch" to do the work of The Arc.

Past President, Board Development Committee Chair

John Shouse Photo of John Shouse

John and his wife Janet are parents to three children, including their son Evan, who has autism. He served as the president of the Autism Society of Middle Tennessee for 6 years, and for nearly 4 years as a Vice Chair of the national board of the Autism Society of America. He is co-author, with Paula Kluth, of The Autism Checklist: A Practical Reference for Parents and Teachers, John Wiley & Sons, 2009.

Region 1 - East TN Regional Representative

Karen Downer, Chattanooga

Region 2 - Middle TN Regional Representative

Caitlin Bernstein, Franklin

Region 3 - West TN Regional Representative

Shontie Brown, Memphis

Other Committee Chairs

Doria Panvini, Nashville, Public Policy
Sharon Bottorff, Franklin, Membership
Robyn Lampley, Dickson, Advocacy & Education

At Large and Local Chapter Representative Board Members

Glenda Bond, Crossville
Susan Carr, Decherd
Brenda Farley, Memphis
Nathan Fields, Nashville
Malessa Fleenor, Gray
Cindy Gardner, Nashville
Teresa Grimmett, Centerville
Jennifer Heflin, Franklin
Elise McMillan, Nashville
Courtney Taylor, Nashville

Governance & Business Documents

Constitution and Bylaws

Annual Report 2017-2018

Audit 2018

Strategic Plan 2019-2022


Position Statements

Position statements can be found at The Arc United States.